The Classification of Kufr

[Majlisul Ulama]

KAAFIR:  Every  person  who  is  not  a  Muslim  is  described in the  Shariah as a  Kaafir.  

THE  TYPES  OF  KAAFIR: Munaafiq,  murtad,  kitaabi, mushrik,  dahriyyah,  mu’attil  and  zindeeq.  A  zindeeq  is  also known as baatini  and  mulhid.

MUNAAFIQ:  One  who  verbally  claims  to  be  a  Muslim,  but in his heart  is not so,  is termed a  Munaafiq.  

MURTAD:  A  Muslim  who  renounces  Islam  is  termed  a murtad.  

MUSHRIK:  One  who  subscribes  to  or  believes  in  more than  one  Divine  Being  is  termed  a  mushrik.  One  who associates  another  as  a  partner  with  Allah  is  also  termed  a mushrik.

KITAABI:  One  who  follows  a  previously  revealed,  Divine religion  which  has  been  abrogated,  is  termed  a  kitaabi,  e.g. Jews and  Christians.

DAHRIYYAH:  One  who  believes  in  the  eternity  of  time and  ascribes  creation to  time  is termed dahriyyah.

MU’ATTIL:  One  who  denies  the  existence  of  the  Creator  is termed  a  Mu’attil  (atheist).  

ZINDEEQ:  Zindeeq  is  a  person  who  acknowledges  the Nubuwwat  of  Rasulullah  (sallallahu  alayhi  wasallam)  and accepts  the  shiaar  (salient  features,  e.g.  SalaatHajj)  of Islam,  but  at  the  same  time  adheres  to  beliefs  which  are unanimously  branded  as kufr  in the  Shariah.

According  to  this  definition  the  term  zindeeq  will  apply  to all  persons  who  proclaim  themselves  to  be  Muslims  while  at the  same  time  prescribing  to  kufr  beliefs.  The  majority  of baatil sects  fall  in this  category of kufr.  

TA’WEEL BAATIL (Baseless  interpretation)  

In  some  quarters  there  exists  the  misconception  that rejection  of  a  teaching  of  the  Shariah  by  way  of  ta’weel (interpretation)  is  not  kufr.  A  ta’weel  which  rejects  or alters  in  any  way  any  of  the  Dhurooriyaat-e-Deen (Essentials of Deen) is baatil (baseless). Such interpretations  produce kufr.  For  example:   

(1)  Belief  in  the  fact  that  Nabi  Isaa  (alayhis  salaam)  is alive  and  that  he  was  physically  raised  into  the  Heaven  is among  the  Dhurooriyaat-e-Deen.  Denial  of  this  belief  by any  form  of  interpretation whatever,  is  baatil  and  kufr.  

(2)  The  belief  in  Khatme-Nubuwwat  (finality  of  the Nubuwwat  of Rasulullah — sallallahu  alayhi  wasallam)  is among  the  Dhurooriyaat-e-Deen.  Denial  of  this  belief  on  the basis of interpretation is baatil  and  kufr.  

(3)  Belief  in  the  physical  resurrection  of  humanity  in  the Aakhirah  is  among  the  Dhurooriyaat-e-Deen.  Denial  of  this belief  by  way  of  interpretation is  baatil  and  kufr.

(4)  Belief  in  the  Mu’jizaat  (Miracles)  of  the  Ambiyaa (alayhimus  salaam)  is  among  the  Dhurooriyaat-e-Deen. Whoever  interprets  the  Mu’jizaat  to  mean  anything  other than  what  the  Ummah  has  understood  it  to  be  for  the  past fourteen centuries,  commits kufr.

There  are  four  kinds  of  kufr,  viz.  Kufr  Jahl,  Kufr  Juhood, Kufr  Shakk  and  Kufr  Ta’weel.  The  one  guilty  of  any  of these types  of kufr  is  described  as a  kaafir in the  Shariah.  

KUFR  JAHL:  This  means  kufr  occasioned  by  ignorance. Islam  or  the  teachings  of  Islam  are  denied  on  the  basis  of ignorance.  The  rejector  believes  that  the  claim  of  Islam  is false.  This  was  the  type  of  kufr  of  Abu  Jahl  and  his compatriots.  

KUFR  JUHOOD: This  means  deliberate  kufr.  The  denial of  Islam  or  its  teachings  is  occasioned  deliberately,  inspite of  realising  its  truth.  This  type  of  kufr  is  the  result  of rebellion  and  obstinacy.  This  was  the  type  of  kufr  of  the Ahl-e-Kitaab  (the  Jews  and  Christians).  This  is  also  the kufr  of Iblees  (shaitaan).  

KUFR SHAKK: This means  kufr  occasioned  by  doubt.  The denier  doubts the truth of Islam.  

KUFR  TA’WEEL: This  means  kufr  by  way  of interpretation.  The  kufr  is  not  committed  by  outright rejection,  but  is  rendered  by  means  of  interpretation.  A belief  or  teaching  of  Islam  is  distorted  or  given  an interpretation  or  meaning  other  than  what  was  the meaning  ascribed  to  it  by  Rasulullah  (sallallahu  alayhi wasallam).

Of  the  four  types  of  kufr,  the  last  viz.  Kufr  Ta’weel  is  the most  common  nowadays  among  those  who  were  born Muslim.  Corrupt  interpretation  is  widely  employed  by Muslims  to  distort  the  true  beliefs  and  teachings  of  Islam. By such baatil ta’weel (baseless and  corrupt interpretation),  Qur’aanic  verses  and  Ahaadith  are  given meanings  which  conflict  with  their  true  and  original meanings  explained  by  Rasulullah  (sallallahu  alayhi wasallam).  By  means  of  this  type  of  kufr,  numerous  born Muslims have become kaafirs


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s